Hot Club of Cowtown | Western Clambake CD (1997) *Autographed*

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Western Clambake *autographed*
1997 — 20th Anniversary CD Reissue 2017 / Gold Strike Records

Our very first recording, Western Clambake, which had previously been available only on cassette tape, first recorded in August, 1997 in San Diego, CA.

The original lineup of the band, documented in this collection, was Hot Club of Cowtown founders Whit Smith on guitar and Elana James on fiddle, with bassist T.C. Cyran. This collection of songs, 38 minutes of total playing time, covers all 14 tracks is a raw, almost primitive collection, a tide of pure energy and relentless enthusiasm. Whit Smith is the only vocalist, but background shouts and trills lend dimension, as does the electrifying thrill of James’s fiddle, Smith’s primal guitar tone, and the acoustic slap and thump of Cyran’s bass. The overall effect is of a metal cylinder field recording c. 1937 with Alan Lomax’s slight distortion from the original cassette after 20 years lends this collection the grit and heart of another era.

1. Draggin’ the Bow
2. Silver Dew on the Bluegrass
3. Chinatown
4. Milkcow Blues
5. Party For the Old Folks
6. Maiden’s Prayer
7. Exactly Like You
8. Devil’s Dream
9. Oklahoma Hills
10. Dinah
11. Old Fashioned Love
12. After You’ve Gone
13. Avalon
14. I Laugh When I Think How I Cried Over You

Please visit our Bandcamp page if you’d like to download this album digitally.